TOWN OF HUDSON



Budget Committee

Jonathan Maltz, Chairman · Vice-Chairman

12 School Street · Hudson, New Hampshire 03051 · Tel: 603-886-6000 · Fax: 603-816-1294



Budget Committee Meeting Minutes March 20, 2014

A. Call to Order

Chairman Jon Maltz called the meeting to order at 7:05.

B. Pledge of Allegiance

Malcolm Price led the Pledge of Allegiance.

C. Attendance

Members Present: Chair Jonathan Maltz,

Jim Barnes, Randy Brownrigg, John Drabinowicz, Joyce Goodwin, Geoffrey Keegan, Shawn Jasper,

Stephen Nute, Malcolm Price.

Members Absent: School Board Liaison, Selectman Liaison

D. Public Input

None provided.

E. Introduction of New Members

Chairman Maltz introduced the newly elected members. Malcolm Price and Geoffrey Keegan were elected to three year terms. Shawn Jasper was elected to a one year term.

F. Reports of Committees

- 1. School Board None.
- 2. Board of Selectmen None.

G. Acceptance of Minutes

1. February 20, 2014 – John Drabinowicz moved to accept the minutes for the meeting of February 20 as submitted. Randy Brownrigg seconded the motion.

Vote: Motion passed 5 - 0 - 4.

H. School FY14 Actuals

Presentation deferred to the April Budget Committee meeting.

I. Potential revised budget vote in accordance with RSA 40:13, X and XVI

The committee discussed the defeat of the FY 2015 Town, Water, and Sewer budgets. Kathy Carpentier estimated that the cost of a special election would be about \$5000.

Motion: Shawn Jasper moved that the Budget Committee recommend to the Board of Selectmen to revise the FY 2015 budget and schedule a Town Meeting to vote using paper ballots. Joyce Goodwin seconded the motion.

Vote: Motion passed 9 – 0.

J. Election of Officers

Clerk: Joyce Goodwin nominated Jim Barnes for the position of Clerk. John Drabinowicz moved to close nominations and that a single ballot be cast for Jim Barnes as Clerk. Malcolm Price seconded the motion.

Vote: Motion passed 8 - 0 - 1.

Vice Chairman: John Drabinowicz nominated Jon Maltz for the position of Vice-Chairman. John Drabinowicz moved to close nominations and that a single ballot be cast for Jon Maltz as Vice Chairman. Joyce Goodwin seconded the motion.

Vote: Motion passed 8 - 0 - 1.

Chairman: Randy Brownrigg nominated Shawn Jasper for the position of Chairman. John Drabinowicz moved to close nominations and that a single ballot be cast for Shawn Jasper as Chairman. Malcolm Price seconded the motion.

Vote: Motion passed 9 – 0.

K. Other Business Comments

Shawn Jasper requested that the Budget Committee meetings for the next three months move to the second Thursday of the month.

John Drabinowicz requested that the meetings start at 7:30 instead of 7:00 for this year.

Shawn Jasper noted that this year marks the 75th year since Municipal Budget Act was adopted in the Town of Hudson.

L. Adjournment

Shawn Jasper moved to adjourn the meeting. Joyce Goodwin seconded the motion.

Vote: Motion passed 9 – 0.

Meeting adjourned at 7:34.

March 20, 2014 Jim Barnes. Clerk